Nominations for the Liverpool Art Prize 2012 are now CLOSED…

Nominations for the 2012 Liverpool Art Prize open on Monday 5 September 2011 and close on Friday 25 November 2011.


The Liverpool Art Prize is a competition of contemporary art open to professional artists based in or born in the Liverpool City Region of the United Kingdom.

2012 will be the 5th Liverpool Art Prize. The exhibition of 4 shortlisted artists will take place at Metal at Edge Hill Station.

Please read the guidelines before making your nominations:

  • You can nominate yourself.
  • You can nominate up to three artists.
  • The artists needs to be born in OR currently based in Liverpool City Region (this includes the boroughs of Liverpool, Wirral, St Helens, Knowsley, Halton and Sefton)
  • The artist needs to have exhibited or realised a project or piece of work in the previous year (June 2010- Present) and there needs to be evidence of this online in order to complete your nomination.
  • Artists who have been shortlisted for the prize in the previous two years are not legible for the prize.
  • Artists will need to be available to exhibit as part of the Liverpool Art Prize 2012 (26th April – 9th June).
  • Nominated artists need to have made a demonstrable contribution or impact on the Liverpool art scene and to have developed a unique and individual art practice.
  • Nominations are accepted from all artistic disciplines.


Artist Link Nominee
Adrian Jeans anon
Alan Dunn Roger Cliffe-Thompson, Rita Griffiths, James Quin
Anna Ketskemety Roisin Hyland
Arthur Roberts Barbara Jones, Jacqueline Roberts, Jane Hughes
Birgit Deubner Sally Medlyn
Brigitte Jurack David Jacques, Bernadette O’Toole, Sara-Jayne Parsons, Dorothea Muecke-Herzberg + 3 anon
Cherie Grist Eliza Brittles
Chiz Turnross anon
Claire Weetman Claire Weetman
Craig Atkinson Kevin Hunt
David and Eirin Hallangen-Lake Kee Garden, Claes Borg, Jeff Greenbank
David Gough Emma Gough
David Sinclair David Sinclair
Deborah Jayne Bennett Deborah Moore
Derek Murray & Curtis Watt Derek Murray
E.Scott Jones Helen Parslew
Helen Louise Stead Helen Louise Stead
Horse (Gary McGarvey) anon
James Tomo Priya Sharma, Tony Knox
Jason Thompson Arthur Roberts
Jemma Egan Hannah Jones
John Davies Sally Medlyn
John Hogan John Hogan
John O’Shea anon
Jonathan Tooze Ruth Dillon
Julie Dodd Linda Muat, Carol Ramsay, Alison Bailey Smith, Shaun Dodd
Julieann O’Malley anon
Kevin Hunt anon, Andrew Bracey, Anna Francis, Glen Stoker, Michael Aitken
Leo Fitzmaurice anon, Kevin Hunt
Linny Venables Simon Poulter
Madeline Hall Simon Poulter
Marvin Blair Marvin Blair, Julie Robertson,  several others
Mike Carney anon
Mike Carney & Jon Barraclough (collaboration) Emily Speed
Nicki McCubbing anon, Kevin Hunt
Pete Carr Sam Bytheway
Pete Clarke Tony Knox
Robyn Woolston Claire Weetman, Carol Ramsay, Becs Andrews, Joe Stathers-Tracey, anon
Ruth Dillon Tony Knox
Sam Venables anon
Sean Dagnall anon
Stephen King Patrick Fox
STOK Mak Trades
Tabitha Jussa Josie Jenkins
Tom Palin Paul Fred Kelly
Tom Ross Tom Ross
Tony Knox Emma Jackson, Nadia Cheung, Simon Curran, Tony Lavender
Wendy Williams Jet Pascua